Padma Award Winners Announced, Kader Khan, Gautam Gambhir Among 112 Recipients

Padma Award Winners Announced,  Kader Khan, Gautam Gambhir Among 112 Recipients

Padma Award Winners Announced,  Kader Khan, Gautam Gambhir Among 112 Recipients 

New Delhi: The list of Padma awardee has been announced ahead of 70th Republic Day. The list contains the name of 112 personalities, including the name of late actor Kader Khan, cricketer Gautam Gambhir, senior advocate HS Phoolka, scientist Nambi Narayanan, late journalist Kuldip Nayar, mountaineer Bachendri Pal and southern actor Mohanlal.

Out of the total, 112 personalities, 21 are women and 11 foreigners or NRIs, three posthumous awardees and one transgender person.

India's second highest civlian award, the Padma Vibushan will be awarded to Folk artiste Teejan Bai, Djibouti's President Ismail Omar Guelleh, entrepreneur Anilkumar Manibhai Naik, and writer Balwant Moreshwar Purandare will receive the Padma Vibhushan, India's second-highest civilian honour. The award will be given from President Ram Nath Kovind at the Rashtrapati Bhavan around March.

The 14 personalities will be awarded the Padma Bhushan. Kuldip Nayar and Nambi Narayanan are among the awardees.

94 personlities will be felicitated with Padma Shri. The list includes the name of  actor Manoj Bajpayee, footballer Sunil Chhetri, choreographer/director Prabhu Deva, singer Shankar Mahadevan and freestyle wrestler Bajrang Punia.

Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian Awards of the country,  are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

For exceptional and distinguished service, an individual is awarded the 'Padma Vibhushan','Padma Bhushan' is awarded for distinguished service of high order and 'Padma Shri' for distinguished service in any field.

The Awards are given in various disciplines of activities, art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service.